Summer Reading

Hi everyone,

After reading Professor Stearn’s email, I thought I’d jump at the chance to discuss summer reading! I recently finished the Kite Runner. I know I’m a little behind on this one. It seems that so many people have already read it! Now that I’ve finished it, I can see why it was so popular. It is a beautiful story that showed a unique and personal picture of Afghanistan. I wouldn’t call it a “modern masterpiece,” but it was definitely thought-provoking, timely, and touching. Allison

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Summer Reading

  1. sunyprof

    Hi, whose post is this? Please sign your posts. Thanks! Karen

  2. rayhedrick

    KITE RUNNER was awesome. I, also, just read it this summer. I want to read the second one now.

    Ray

  3. allison76

    Sorry! This is Allison Porzio, and I was the one who wrote about the Kite Runner.

    Ray, I’ve heard great things about A Thousand Splendid Suns. My mom read it and loved it! I’ll probably read it eventually too.

  4. Amanda McKenney

    Hello everyone! This is Amanda McKenney again and this summer I read several novels. I read The Perfect Storm by Sebastian Junger, The Innocent Man by John Grisham and the entire Harry Potter series. I am also working my way through several contemporary novels. I read Jodi Picoult’s early work entitled Perfect Match, which is about the sexual abuse of a young child, and I am halfway through one of her most recent novels, The Tenth Circle which deals with the rape of a teenage girl. Further, when I finish this book, I hope to begin Nineteen Minutes, which is Picoult’s newest novel and tackles the issue of school violence. Although most of her novels deal with very controversial issues, I think they are nonetheless important explorations of universal issues of rape, abuse, euthanasia, relationships, family and religions. I think The Tenth Circle would be an appropriate novel for upper level high school students, either 11th or 12th grade, and it could be read in a family unit, as this story explores parenting, family dynamics and disruptions and changes to those dynamics. It could also be read in a teenage unit, since it deals with many social issues that adolescents encounter. Some of the components of the story remind me of works by Laurie Halse Anderson, and I know some of her novels have been incorporated in high school curriculums. This story could also interestingly be read and taught as a modern exploration of Dante’s Inferno. A character in this story is an English professor, and is currently teaching this piece to her undergraduates, and after a series of unfolding events, her family literally begins to travel through various levels of hell. Lastly, this story could also be used in a contemporary literature class, and read as a graphic novel, as there are comic strips before each of the chapters. Another main character is an artist, and the readers are introduced to his art through these comics. This would be an interesting approach since, in my experiences and that of other educators I know, graphic novels are not frequently taught.

    I also read Kite Runner within the last year and I loved it. A Thousand Splendid Suns is on my future reading list!

Leave a Reply

