Examining the Regents High School Examination

After class last week, I was asked to facilitate the discussion about the Regents exam that high-school students took last June. After looking at it briefly, I was concerned about what to highlight in our discussion. With the help from Dr. Stearns, a couple of questions came to mind.

What does this exam expect students to know and be able to do?

Also, what kind of preparation would these students need to answer these questions successfully?

While I was thinking about all of this, I was rudely interrupted by Labor Day Weekend. So, after I finished the rest of the readings for tonight, I returned to the Regents Examination. This time, Chapter two of the Apple book had brought me towards some conclusions.

It seems that now, as we will discuss thoroughly in class, that there is a connection of what Apple calls “high status knowledge” and this high-stakes test. It seems that this is a perfect example of the point that Apple is making in this reading.

I know that I’m posting late, so I won’t bore you with too many other details (before class tonight, of course), especially since Jerry and Suzanne did a great job on their posts regarding Apple, but I wanted to ask one more question.

How does this differ from what we are reading in Erin Gruwell’s book?

I also wanted to let you know that I will bring a copy of the listening part of this Regents, so we can all take a closer look at what this test is asking of students. I will also post a link to this part of the test for your personal viewing pleasure.

Cheers,

Ray H.

Leave a comment

Filed under Facilitation

Leave a Reply

