sequence of instruction question

Hi All!

I hope everyone had a nice weekend.  Mine went by way to quick, as usual!  All weekend I have been racking my brain trying to think about this question I will base my sequence of instruction around.  I guess I’m having trouble focusing and narrowing in on just one specific topic.  I, like Mandy, have always been interested in gender issues and this idea of “equality in our schools.”  I am also, however, interested in how minorities are treated in our public school systems.  Included in both these topics are the issues of tracking, and high stakes testing as tools to keep certain members of our society down.  Does anyone have ideas on how to narrow this down to one specific question to work around??? Am I even on the right track?  Any ideas or help will be greatly appreciated!!

Suzanne

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “sequence of instruction question

  1. sunyprof

    Hi Suzanne, these seem more like questions of interest to us, of burning interest, but not necessarily of interest to teens.

    I’m surprised no one has posted yet on a key question lots of adolescents think a good deal about–what is love? Lot of more specific questions could flow from this one: How do people express love? Are there different kinds of love? Does love (really) conquer all? I like that last one!

    I will give you some reading on Tues. that willl help I know. I’m glad you’ve been thinking about it. KES

  2. jillian24

    Suzanne,
    I like your idea. If the question interests you, you’ll be able to give it energy in a classroom. I think instead of trying to narrow your question, you should generalize a little. Your students, as Dr. Stearns said, may not want to discuss high states testing; however, I’ve never met a teenager who won’t talk about discrimination and labelling. I’m sure a discussion on cliques would develop. Perhaps part of your subset of questions could be your question about how we are divided and labelled in school.
    Jillian

  3. canadawr5

    It sounds like you want to talk about the injustices in the school system. I think you are on the right track but it depends on what type of classroom you are planning to address.
    If you plan on posing your question to an inner city public school classroom, where the minority is the majority, then you are probably going to have to talk about more “hardcore” topics so that you can keep their attention. (Injustice may be good!)

    However, if you plan on posing your question to a school in the suburbs, then more “fluffy” subjects may be more adequate because the students can more or less relate because of the lifestyles they live.

    Ray Canada

  4. sfarah19

    Thank you all for responding to my post. I really appreciate your input and have given the topic some more thought after reading your comments.

    Jillian, Thank you for helping me narrow down by generalizing which injustices in our school system are of greatest importance. I agree that identity and labeling have a major influence on adolescents. And this part of the idea I’ve been tampering with.

    Ray, I agree with your comment on injustice and race in schools. It may have to approached differently according to who my audience will be. Although I think it may be difficult for a suburban school student to understand or attempt to relate to the issue of injustices (especially those having to due with discrimination against our minority students) it may be beneficial for them if I didn’t take such a “fluffy” approach. After reading the chapters on reader response in Appleman’s book, it seems important that we expose our students to issues that may not directly relate to them. Does this seem plausible to you??

    KES, does this seem like something that adolescents would be interested in?

    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

