McKibben

I don’t know about the rest of the class, but I cant wait to hear Bill McKibben speak on Tuesday. I just read his article that we received in class entitled “The Environment”, and I also have a brief bio of him from the Cortland Bulletin. Much like Alison talks about Carroll’s passion for his turtle, I think it is obvious that McKibben’s passions are definitely environmental. In the bio I have of him, it describes his extensive efforts in trying to raise awareness of global warming. I was most interested in the 5 day walk he led across Vermont, which has been deemed the “largest demonstration to date in American about climate change.” He also has a website (stepitup07.org), which is very interesting as well, with a blog and information about how to get involved if you wish to do so. Finally, he has written tons about the environment. His first book came out in 1989, entitled The End of Nature, and warned about the detrimental effects of climate change, and his most recent book is entitled Deep Economy: The Wealth of Communities and the Durable Future. So although much of his focus seems to be on the environment, it seems like he also tackles other issues, including economics and social issues such as population control. I think a discussion about the issues raised in his short article would be very interesting. What did everyone think? Are you looking forward to hearing him speak? Has anyone read any of his books? MANDY

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “McKibben

  1. jillian24

    I haven’t read any of his books, but I am also looking forward to hearing him speak. I’m interested in how he and others combat the media bias. I’m sure lots of people would agree with him, but the average reader/ American doesn’t read Harpers. Why isn’t his article in the local newspaper or on the TV?

    I think that’s one of the questions we address in class. How do we teach students where to find information? To be an informed reader, you can’t just read the paper. I think this is where the internet and mulitple literacies become important.

    Thanks for the additional sources. I’ll check them out.
    Jillian

  2. sunyprof

    I agree completely. Our students should be reading Bill McKibben and other essayists NOT just “Of Mice and Men” (just used as one example) in our ELA classrooms. Far more relevant to their lives and the world they are growing into than MOST of what they read in ELA classrooms. KES

Leave a Reply

