Some Help, If You Would…

I’m trying to compose my sequence of instruction, and it seems that I am going to have to further develop and focus it. My question, if you would, for this project is as follows:

What do we owe our brother/sister?

As it seems, this question is rather broad. I’m trying to work it down into something more manageable, something more purposeful. The term brother/sister can be used on many levels. My brother could simply be a relative; however, my brother can also be a good friend of mine. Also a person with a common heritage. I’m trying to sort this all out in my mind in order to create something that I feel will mean something to my “students.” The overall theme that I’m trying to portray deals with these different types of relationships, and, well, honestly, I’m not quite sure where it would be best for me to go with this.

This sequence of instruction project is all I could think about while reading Understanding by Design, by Wiggins and McTighe. The idea of implementing a “backward design” process will help “[…] to avoid common inadequacies in curriculum and assessment planning” (3). Now I see why we will choose a question first, and THEN the relevant texts. This brings me to another question that these two raise in this article: “What should students know, understand, and be able to do?” (9). Well, hopefully my question from above will be seen as “worthy of understanding” (9). In other words…

Well, let me point to the figure on page 18, figure 1.6. This chart proved to be the most helpful in my understanding of “backward design.” So hopefully, when I’m done, my “unit” will be framed around “enduring understandings and essential questions” (18) that will consider the standards as well.

I found this article to be quite helpful, but I’m still having some issues focusing my question. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Ray H.

Leave a comment

Filed under sequence of instruction

Leave a Reply

