Realistic Dreams?

I just had a quick question for you all. I was working on the finishing touches of the three parts of my sequence of instruction, and I had a thought. Am I reaching too much?

My kickoff activity was a little ambitious. I felt that I could get Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner, to come and talk to my class. As if that wasn’t enough, I also wrote, in my kickoff activity, that he would offer to read my students’ friendship memoirs (at my suggestion, of course). I can see that this isn’t very realistic (or is it?). But, there’s no better time or place for me to try something like this, is there?

I’m just wondering if I’ve gone too far. If so, I guess I’ll have to manipulate my kickoff activity. However, I do have other ideas, but could you imagine how cool this would be for the students.

I’m also hoping that my UbD template isn’t formatted terribly. I was a little confused on how I should construct it. I tried to follow the packet example and the templates Dr. Stearns gave us as close as I could, but I’m still a little nervous about this.

Ray H.

1 Comment

Filed under sequence of instruction

One response to “Realistic Dreams?

  1. Karen

    Re: Hosseini’s coming to your class…I always say shoot high and then have a back up plan. Why not work w/community agencies to locate an Afghani (s) who would be willing to come in. Maybe not a famous one–but that’s ok. Maybe even better esp. if you can get him/her to blog with your class and discuss the book from his/her location/subjectivity.

    As for getting the template “right.” NOT important. It’s the process of thinking through your sequence that’s important. KES

Leave a Reply

