Unit stuff

I’ve been working on the calendar of instruction, bibliography, and kickoff activity.  I guess we should post them?

Just a few things before my stuff- My calendar is based on a block schedule because most of the schools in my area use a block schedule.  I like the eighty minute periods because they give you time to accomplish meaningful goals and opportunities to offer differentiated instruction (activities that engage different student abilities).  So I built my calendar around five weeks of a block schedule.  I haven’t completed my calendar because I don’t have my reflection prompts set up.  I also assumed that the bibliography was for classroom texts, not teacher resources.  Should we include teacher resources?

Do I have the format right on this?  On the right track?  Anywhere near what I’m supposed to be doing?

J. Degan

Unit Plan

Calendar of Instruction

Week 1: Day 1: WebQuest; selection of panelists to fascilitate Conference.  Reflection prompt:

           

            Day 2:  Begin Cooper; read Durham; view scene from Blackrobe.  Reflection prompt:

           

            Day 3:  Cooper con’t.; view massacre scenes in two film versions.  Reflection prompt:  Due: Draft of culminating task composition for peer review.

Week 2: Day 1: Read Boland; writing workshop for compositions; selection of literature circle texts (Alexie, Anderson, Cavell, Mosley).  Reflection prompt:  Due: Peer review sheet.

           

            Day 2:  Finish Cooper; view Berry.  Reflection prompt: 

Week 3:  Day 1:  Douglass (1987), selections from Douglass (2000).  Reflection prompt:  Due: Revised draft of compositions

           

            Day 2:  Begin Amistad.  Reflection prompt:

           

            Day 3:   Amistad con’t.  Reflection prompt.  Due: Published draft of compositions.

Week 4:  Day 1:  Finish Amistad; read Hughes and McCay.  Reflection prompt:

           

            Day 2:  Begin literature circles.  Reflection prompt: Due: Initial draft of reflection paper

Week 5:  Day 1:  Literature circles con’t.  Reflection prompt:

           

            Day 2:  Finish literature circles.  Reflection prompt:

           

            Day 3:  Conference: .  Due: Reader journals and published draft of reflection paper.

 

Bibliography

 Alexie, S.  The absolutely true diary of a part-time Indian.   (YA novel) 

Anderson, M.T.  The astonishing life of Octavian Nothing, traitor to the nation: The pox party.  (YA novel)

Blackrobe.  Beresford, dir. (film)

Berry, J.  People of the Hills, part 1: Introduction.  http://blog.syracuse.com/video/2007/

            03/people_of_the_hills_part_1.html (Video photo-essay- website) 

Boland, E.  That the science of cartography is limited.  Poems: In a time of violence.  (Poem)

 Cavell, M.  Sweetgrass basket.  (YA novel) 

Cooper, J. F.  The last of the Mohicans.  (Novel)

 

Douglass, F.  What to the negro is the Fourth of July?  My bondage and my freedom.  (Speech)

 —.  Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass.  In W.L. Andrews and H.L. Gates, Jr., Slave narratives. (Autobiography) 

Durham, J.  Columbus Day.  In D. Niatum, The Harper’s anthology of 20th century Native American poetry.  (Poem) 

Hughes, L.  The negro speaks of rivers.  In R. Ellman and R. O’Clair, The Norton anthology of modern poetry, second edition. (Poem) 

Interactive map of the Sullivan-Clinton campaign.  http://www.sullivanclinton.com/mapset/shell.swf  (Website)

 Interview with Aunt Harriet Smith, Hempstead, TX, 1941.  http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/S?ammem/afcesnbib:@field(TITLE+@od1(Interview+with+Aunt+Harriet+Smith,+Hempstead,+Texas,+1941++part+1+of+4+))  (Audio recording- website) 

The last of the Mohicans.  Mann, dir. (Film) 

McCay, C.  America.  In R. Ellman and R. O’Clair, The Norton anthology of modern poetry, second edition.  (Poem)

 Mosley, Walter.  47.  (YA novel) 

Amistad.   Spielburg, dir.  (Film)

Major Gen. Sullivan’s official report.  http://www.rootsweb.com/%7Eusgenweb/pa/1pa/1picts/sullivan/sullivanmisc2.html#sullivan  (Historical document- website) 

The last of the Mohicans.  Tourneur and Brown, dirs.  (Film)

This is a link to my kickoff activity- a WebQuest that looks at several narratives that have been historically silenced.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Unit stuff

  1. jmdegan

    Some of the text got compressed and is hard to read- I’ll have a paper version for tomorrow.

    J. Degan

  2. jmdegan

    Okay, the link doesn’t work. Here’s the URL:
    http://www.freewebs.com/jmdegan

  3. sunyprof

    Hi Jerry, the link to the webquest didn’t work for me. You might check that. Don’t worry about format. It’s a lot to absorb on a blog. Without the frame (the initial template w/enduring understandings and essential questions laid out) it’s hard to see the focus of the unit in this rush of material.

    But some feedback may be helpful.

    Much of the “instruction” seems to be literature circles which in an 80 minute block would be perhaps 1/3 of the planned instruction for that period. Also, the writing seems primarily “reflection.” Think about multiple/authentic assessments (performance tasks/projects other than reflective writing) that expand the ways in which students provide evidence for learning.

    You have a very interesting set of texts–I’ll be able to respond more fully to the integration of these texts when I have a better understanding of the overarching foci here and especially your design template. KES

  4. jmdegan

    My thought is that reflective writing allows students to direct their own writing tasks. I guess I could develop other assessments, asking students to perform certain tasks. That doesn’t seem like it’s authentic work. Where am I wrong on this point?

    My schedule is still a work in progress. I’m trying to think of what tasks I want to add to the literature circles to fill up the other thirty minutes of time (and some of that time would probably be devoted to mini-lessons on writing skills/grammar- but it’s impossible to make direct reference to those because I don’t have students with problems that need to be addressed in mini-lessons). I would also have routine activities (reading/writing exercises, journaling) that I didn’t necessarily add to the calendar.

    I didn’t tackle the template because we haven’t really discussed or had any exposure to this kind of planning. I’m a little frustrated that we have to come in outside of class in order to get that instruction. What’s the difference between key knowledge and skills and enduring understandings? How do we craft enduring understandings? What’s the difference between performance tasks/authentic assessments and other evidence of learning? Is my webquest an authentic assessment (it’s directed learning) or other evidence? What are learning activities? Would that include Socratic seminars, lit. circles?

    I’m just frustrated that we’re being asked to complete a task that we haven’t had any discussion about.

    J. Degan

  5. sunyprof

    Jerry, see my response below…within the

    My thought is that reflective writing allows students to direct their own writing tasks.

    I guess I could develop other assessments, asking students to perform certain tasks. That doesn’t seem like it’s authentic work. Where am I wrong on this point?

    My schedule is still a work in progress. I’m trying to think of what tasks I want to add to the literature circles to fill up the other thirty minutes of time (and some of that time would probably be devoted to mini-lessons on writing skills/grammar- but it’s impossible to make direct reference to those because I don’t have students with problems that need to be addressed in mini-lessons).

    I would also have routine activities (reading/writing exercises, journaling) that I didn’t necessarily add to the calendar.

    I didn’t tackle the template because we haven’t really discussed or had any exposure to this kind of planning.

    You do not have to come in outside of class for instruction…that invitation to join me at 6:00 is merely an invitation to come in and have an informal conversation about your unit…it’s not designed to substitute for class work. That hour is “office hours.” Folks can come or not depending on their availability/interest>

    I’m a little frustrated that we have to come in outside of class in order to get that instruction. What’s the difference between key knowledge and skills and enduring understandings? How do we craft enduring understandings? What’s the difference between performance tasks/authentic assessments and other evidence of learning? Is my webquest an authentic assessment (it’s directed learning) or other evidence? What are learning activities? Would that include Socratic seminars, lit. circles?

    I’m just frustrated that we’re being asked to complete a task that we haven’t had any discussion about.

    J. Degan

  6. ll123

    J. Degan,
    I understand your frustration here. I do agree that we need to discuss more of such instruction in class, and our professor’s guidance in class will guide us in the right track and help us do a better job. Posted by L. L.

Leave a Reply

