Teacher, How Would You Respond?

I am copying this email from one young adult listserv I belong to. Nice challenge. What would you say?

“I’ve got a very precocious 9 year old girl who is rapidly outgrowing
even my YA fantasy selection. Her teacher has set a project for her:
read 50 “classic” YA novels. The catch is that we’re looking at a 14-yr
old reading level (according to her father), but they need to be clean.

So I guess I’ve got two questions: What books would you consider to be
classic YA? and Which of those are clean enough for a nine year old who
loves the Septimus Heap, HP, and Pendragon series? I’ve seen the clean
reads lists come through, but I think that determining “classic” YA
books (I know, it’s completely subjective!) needs to be the first step.”

KES

2 Comments

Filed under Class Notes

2 responses to “Teacher, How Would You Respond?

  1. dldvoracek

    Some of the books I would recommend to this reader would include Dragon Rider, Inkheart and Inkspell by Cornelia Funke, anything by Madeline L’Engle, The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo, The Wind in the Willows and The Willows in Winter by Kenneth Grahame, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick and Watership Down. This represents a starting point that includes both old and soon to be YA classics. Hope this helps, Donna

  2. sunyprof

    Donna, thanks for these great suggestions. I cross-posted them on the listserv. It’s good to see you on the blog. KES

Leave a Reply

