Bring on the Writing

We’ve talked about theme-based units in reading, but what about the writing? I think someone asked this is class the other day, too. Beach and O’Brien discuss the interdependency of reading and writing with an emphasis upon doing both with a purpose. I couldn’t agree more.

 As we think about strategies for our seminars, I find myself falling back on the age old strategies. I know we can’t get rid of them completely, but I agree that they need to be included in a discovery of something bigger. Since my sequence of instruction was on identity, I was very interested in Beach and O’Brien’s discussion of rereading and revising texts from mulitple perspectives. Instead of labeling point of view, setting, metaphors, etc, teachers can add elements of discovery and adventure if students attempt to change these literary elements. It will probably help engagement also. I plan to use this rewriting strategy for my seminar.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Bring on the Writing

  1. sunyprof

    Jillian (do sign your name ok!), I have been a university writing instructor for decades before coming to Cortland. I would so love to dig in here on this topic and in fact I will be teaching a freshmen/women writing seminar in spring.

    I decided early on that because of Dr. Kennedy’s course, which many students are taking // to this one, that 541 would concentrate on reading with adolescents, an area I observe needs a great deal of encouragement and attention in beginning teachers.

    The B/O’Brien article is an excellent bridge between reading/writing worlds.

    What are the age-old strategies you find yourself “falling back on?” Do elaborate. Maybe they’re age old because they support writers’ development and bring about positive growth.

    My work with all of you is late-stage (career) writing pedagogy–which has been a movement from early days when I “corrected” student work to what I call mentoring it with extensive feedback and encouragement.

    I have come to understand that writers of all ages develop when they have an interest in and ownership over meaningful writing projects and when they have an interested/invested critical audience.

    I am hoping those students who are in Dr. K’s class have used the chapters in Beers that focus on writing to speak to that course.

    What do others think about this? Thanks for posting on Beach/O’Brien. KES

    P.S. Glad you found a good strategy here for your seminar.

  2. rayhedrick

    I actually used the Beers book a lot in my journal article for Kennedy’s class.

    I think you’re right, Dr. Stearns; Dr. Kennedy’s class is focused on writing and this one on reading–I think that works out for those of us in both of the classes.

    Those who haven’t taken Dr. K’s class will eventually. It’s a great class, and I’m sure that my fellow classmates, who are in the class, will agree with me. And those of you who will be in it… you have something to look forward to.

    Ray H.

Leave a Reply

