Daily Archives: November 9, 2007

Theory in Practice

Tuesday night I sensed a great deal of interest (of course) in what you can expect when you are student teaching, interviewing for postions and and teaching. I had an experience today I want to share w/you. The host teacher (and department chair) whose classroom I visit at Liverpool High School told me that in their most recent senior English dept. meeting the faculty decided to widen its infusion of literary theories into their senior English classes.

This is a large faculty — 20+ English teachers–and many of them are already teaching theory.

She was delighted to hear that Cortland is encouraging reading a variety of texts from multiple perspectives. She also said that she has found previous student teachers (she’s been teaching for 33 years) unprepared to “talk about literary theory.”

The interview at Liverpool includes an on-site writing sample based on a prompt that the dept. devises. She said that many candidates who might otherwise be attractive to the interviewing committee have not been called back because of their performance on the sample. She asked me if students in pedagogy classes at Cortland are “writing enough?”

Cortland Jr/Sr High also administers a writing “test” as a gate for candidates they interview. One of our recent MAT grads was offered his current position there in part because of his performance on the writing sample.

I also learned that one of the Eng. teachers is facilitating a semester long seminar in YA Lit for other faculty. She was eager to talk with me about what [my] students are reading in YA pedagogy classes at Cortland. I told her about the titles you have chosen for your articles and her eyes lit up!

For those of you who do not know the Syracuse area, Liverpool is a large suburban high school, with high expectations for its students, typical of schools in this category all over the country. KES

A sidenote for those of you who have taken 506–this chair deplores the decision at L’pool to discontinue their laptop program. Students still have access to sophisticated technologies at L’pool and enough laptops for whole class use right in the room. Students have wireless access to the internet. No sites I tried are blocked.

6 Comments

Filed under Class Notes

Templates

Hello, Everyone,
Here are the templates for our “sequence of instruction,” as I promised.  Feel free to get in touch with me if you have any problems.

Calendar Template

Backward Design Template Again
Ray H.

Li Li, I seemed to have misplaced the paper with your e-mail address on them, so if you still want me to e-mail you, then post your e-mail address for me.  Thanks.

4 Comments

Filed under sequence of instruction

A YA book of interest…

Although I haven’t read it, I saw today a YA novel called Wilderness by one of my favorite novelists, Roddy Doyle.  I know nothing about this book aside from what is said on Amazon, but Doyle is one of the most exciting contemporary Irish writers.  You might know the film about a Dublin rock band The Commitments, which is adapted from one of his Barrytown novels.  I think his finest novel is A Star Called Henry, which I encourage you all to check out.  Out of curiosity and admiration, I’m going to try and check this title out.

 J. Degan

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Articles for Publication and the November Issue of EJ

I encourage you to send me an attachment w/the draft of your article so that you have some feedback from me before we meet again next week. I will be emailing responses to those of you who turned in hard copies today, tomorrow and Sunday.

If you have made further progress w/your essay and I have an “earlier” version, please send me the newer one so that I am not reading an older draft. That’s not productive for either of us.

Suggestion for continuing–keep your audience in mind. This is not a traditional literary paper that you have written or would write in an ENG class.

Instead it is a discussion of how theory can inform the work we do w/adolescent readers–how it can deepen as well as open up all at once their responses to texts. Call on your good sources, Tyson and Appleman. And situate yourself as reader/teacher of the text you have chosen to critique.

I am excited to see so much good content in the November issue, TRANSFORMING ENGLISH TEACHING, of EJ. Do read the Jeremiah Hill essay. Seems to speak directly to some of the topics we have been discussing all semester. Do blog about what you think of it. Karen

1 Comment

Filed under Class Notes

Readings for 11/13

Hi class,

Last Tuesday I wrote down the readings due for next week and I can’t find it anywhere! Could someone post what chapters we need to read in BEERs? I already read Christenbury, but was there anything else? Thank you and please excuse my almost-the-end-of-the-semester-disorganization.

-Mandy

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized